Month: November 2008

  • Weird coincidence. Weird.

    Ha! I just put up about 60 pictures from our visit to the Phillies World Series championship parade today, and then this cartoon is on Jump Start. That's pretty funny.


    264919


    Bonus points if anyone knows which TV show is quoted in the blog title.

  • Is it just women who love being married?

    A while back I started a blogring called "I Love Being Married" - because I do. Anyone who reads this blog regularly knows that I'm absolutely mad about my awesome wife. And it's not because we're excitable newlyweds. We've been married 23 years next month. I just haven't gotten over the amazement that she chose me. (As for her ... well, she got the bad end of the deal. )

    Anyway, tonight I was looking through the members of the blogring to see if anyone new had joined and noticed something new. There are fourteen members of the ring - thirteen women plus me!

    What's up with that? Are women the only ones who like being married? And if that's the case, why? Am I an emotional male anomaly that just happens to love my wife? I don't get it.

    Then again, maybe there are more women on Xanga, or more women that happen to read this blog.

    So what's the answer? Do women like being married more than men or is it something else?

  • Kaitie and I played our guitars for in front of about 300 people today at a funeral. It went pretty well with one exception. We had to walk on to the stage (at Grace Church if you're local) and then put our guitar straps around our necks. My strap had slipped off so I was reattaching that when I smacked the live mic with my guitar. That was bad enough, but then Kaitie smacked the same mic about 5 seconds later.

    So quite the auspicious (I am so ashamed ) inauspicious start to our public guitar careers!

  • Spiritual Warfare and Sin: Wrong Judgment

    Do not be deceived, God is not mocked; for whatever a man sows, that he will also reap. --Galatians 6:7

    "Sin, I repeat, in addition to anything else it may be, is always an act
    of wrong judgment. To commit a sin a man must for the moment believe
    that things are different from what they really are; he must confound
    values; he must see the moral universe out of focus; he must accept a
    lie as truth and see truth as a lie; he must ignore the signs on the
    highway and drive with his eyes shut; he must act as if he had no soul,
    and was not accountable for his moral choices.

    "Sin is never a thing to be proud of. No act is wise that ignores remote
    consequences, and sin always does. Sin sees only today, or at most
    tomorrow; never the day after tomorrow, next month or next year. Death
    and judgment are pushed aside as if they did not exist and the sinner
    becomes for the time a practical atheist who by his act denies not only
    the existence of God but the concept of life after death....

    "The notion that the careless sinner is the smart fellow and the
    serious-minded Christian, though well-intentioned, is a stupid dolt
    altogether out of touch with life will not stand up under scrutiny. Sin
    is basically an act of moral folly, and the greater the folly the
    greater the fool
    ." (Italics mine)

    AW Tozer, from Man: The Dwelling Place of God, pp. 47-48

    I need to read this quote more often.

  • 52 to 48

    This is pretty awesome. My nephew sent this link out after the election.

    Not many things are touching enough to make me tear up, but this did.

    http://www.zefrank.com/from52to48withlove/.

    Be sure to check it out. There are more pages on the bottom so be sure to check them all.

  • Is abstaining a legitimate use of your vote

    I'm going to let you in on an email conversation that my family recently had. Since my siblings and I own our own domain, we have a couple email lists set up so we can easily contact the whole family (I'm one of seven siblings, plus lots of our own kids, so this helps).

    We got to discussing for whom we were voting in this election on Tuesday. Here is my first reply:

    I'm still a little up in the air on this. I will definitely NOT be
    voting Obama, but I'm not sure if I'm voting Republican or 3rd party -
    or abstaining which - if done intentionally and purposefully - is
    another legitimate use of your vote.

    One of my sibs disagreed that abstaining is a legitimate use of your vote. Here is my reply to that:

    As I said, I think it can be if it's done purposeful and intentional. Lazily abstaining is wrong.

    Here's
    where I am. I won't vote for Obama for many, many reasons. Foremost is
    because I disagree with his policies on way too many issues. I also
    think he is too overwhelmingly inexperienced to become President.

    But I also think the Republican party has abandoned their base.
    They've become Democrats that pander to my demographic during the
    election season because they think they have my vote in their pocket.
    I'm considering third party candidates while also deciding whether to
    vote for McCain/Palin.

    By witholding my vote from the Republicans (if that's what I end up
    doing), I'm conceding a vote against Obama yet sending a message to the
    Republican party that they better get back to our shared roots and
    values or they'll lose voters like me. But I'm not voting for a third
    party candidate merely to say I voted.

    I guess what I'm saying is that while I've voted against certain
    candidates in the past, I'm beginning to think that that's not the best
    thing to do this year. It's kind of like tough love to a political
    party. :)

    (Btw, Obama's vote of "Present" 129 times in the Illinois Senate is pretty much the same as intentionally abstaining.)

    So what do you think? Who's right? Is abstaining legitimate or is it a waste of a vote?

    And do me a favor --- recommend this post so we can get a lot of people in on the discussion. Thanks!