July 29, 2013

  • Goodbye, Xanga?

    I don’t know who – if anyone – will read this post. I only write on here occasionally anymore, although I read #blogs a fair amount.

    My daughter made my first #Xanga account on here for me. A bunch of the local homeschool kids like her had created accounts and had gotten into the site. Because of that, several of the parents also started blogging, and I was one of those. I’ve always enjoyed writing and, judging from the responses I’ve gotten, I guess people usually like what I write, so this was a natural fit.

    My biggest problem over my many years on Xanga has been that I write tons of posts, but they’re always in my mind and I never manage to actually type them onto the computer. I guess I’ll need to find another site to (not hardly ever) write on.

    I’ve really enjoyed Xanga over the years and will miss it greatly. I’ve made some incredible #friends here (I’d name them, but I’d surely forget someone), most of whom I’ll probably never meet in real life. Xanga has helped shape my viewpoints and raised a lot of questions that I still can’t answer.

    Starting over on another site means starting with a blank slate, not so much with who I am but with who I know. I kind of stumbled into Xanga friendships with no plan, which means I don’t remember how I acquired the people following/subscribed to me, and that also means I’ve got to figure out how to do that on some other site.

    And I’m not sure which site to pick. I use Facebook, but blogging seems most attractive when you can sometimes separate all the real life relationships if you want to. 

    In the big picture, this is the small not-to-be-sweated stuff, but it’s where my mind wanders when I realize Xanga may be #gone. On the other hand, there’s a nice feeling of starting over with a new place. So we’ll see.

    I signed up for Xanga on 8/5/2004. The site reminds me “It’s been 3280 (wow, that’s a big number) days since you joined Xanga”. It saddens me that it may #end.

    Thanks for the memories, everyone. And hey, hit me up on Facebook (Brian Volpone) if you’re so inclined.

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *