June 9, 2008

  • Weird food

    Dyl and I are eating lentils tonight. Bev works Mondays, Kaitie is with a friend, Greg is with his friend, Tara is in New Mexico ( for me;  for her). Bev set out lentils and noodles and told me that was what I was to make for supper, so who am I to argue?

    Have you ever had lentils? They’re not bad – we’ve had them for years since Bev found a recipe in a Mennonite cookbook. I wouldn’t sell my birthright for them like Esau did (Genesis 25:29-34), but they’re ok.

    But it leads me to an interesting question:

    What is the weirdest food you’ve ever eaten?

    I’d have to say guinea pig meat. Kaitie saw some girl who had to answer this question on a test and she said …….. veggie pizza! Whoa there, girl! You’d better slow down in life!

    So what’s your weirdest food ever?

Comments (10)

  • I first discovered lentils as “Linseneintopf”, or lentil stew, in the student cafeteria of the university where I studied in Germany 1976-77.  They gave you a HUGE bowl of stew and a delicious roll for less than 50 cents!  It became one of my favorite meals!  Yum.

    I would say the strangest food I had was “o-mochi”, which is a strange Japanese bean curd wrapped in raw rice dough type thing.  Hard to describe.  I worked with a Japanese lady and she was always bringing me stuff and teaching me Japanese at the same time. 

    I also had pickled garlic in Russia.  Now I am indeed a great fan of garlic, but I nearly gagged on it.  I do believe you can get pickled garlic amongst the Dutchies maybe (in chow chow?), but I might be wrong. 

  • I’m not very adventurous when it comes to eating. I did eat cow tongue when I was young. I really like vienna sausages?

  • I’m not picky but I’m not that adventurous either. I guess the weirdest would be a Cheeto and gravy sandwich.

  • Mmm, lentils. They just always look good to me and they’re good too and healthy for ya! Ya know, I’m not a picky eater but I really haven’t had any really weird foods. I think the weirdest I’ve had is sushi and that’s not weird these days. But I like your question, I don’t hear that one too often.

    Have you tried cellophane noodles? I want to and think I’m going to talk Neil into getting them to have a good dinner one night.

  • WAIT! That’s it! Neil reminded me with his comment above. I have had cow stomach before–it was delish!

  • Cow brains. It was delicious until my grandmother told me what it was. Once and one day my parents decided to roast a cow’s head for my brother’s fifth birthday… needless to say, all I had that day was ice cream and cake. Waaay better than cow head stuff!

  • Hmmm … i would say using the kangaroo mince in my spaghetti bolognaise, but its just not so strange in our family any more. In fact .. its downright a permament on our menu.

  • I know that cookbook! We used to eat lentils a lot when we were first married. I like ‘em with some kind of sauce and/or cheese, but they are a no go for the kids. My weirdest food? Don’t think I’ve really had any! How boring! Dry, salty squid is about as bizarre as I’ve gotten – not too impressive, I know.

  • hmmm….i’m not a big lentil fan.

    the weirdest food i’ve ever eaten i guess is probably antelope (visiting a missonary somewhere) or alligator. 1st tasted like deer meat (gag), and alligator tasted like chicken sort of…but rubbery?….ick. yeah. i wouldn’t eat them again unless i HAD to to survive or something extreme like that.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *