Month: August 2008

  • Subscriptions - Who are you?

    Do you have people on your subscription list - or people that have subscribed to you - and when you see their screen name you have no idea who they are or why you're subscribed in the first place?

    Or is it just me that does that?

  • Brian Volpone for US President

    Are you tired of politics as usual?
    Join the grassroots movement to elect ME as the next US President.

    Click the video below and get aboard the Volpone Express to the White House!


  • Why yes, I am just like Larry's friend, Oscar

    Some of you will know what I'm about to say just from reading the title of this entry. 

    We had a yellow jacket infestation in our bedroom ceiling. If you didn't know (and I didn't), yellow jackets will eat through your drywall leaving nothing but the paint covering the hole as they build their hive in your wall or ceiling! Yikes!

    So we've been waging war on these little monsters, but today they got me. One of them stung me "right on the lip" ... and I didn't have to go to lip rehab.

    But I do have to perform a wedding tomorrow so I was concerned that my swollen face would look terrible. "Hey, why is the preacher's face so deformed?"

    Thankfully, the swelling is gone and all should be well. The bees are all gone too. Hail to the victors!

  • My surgery

    Yes, I did have surgery yesterday.No, I hadn't mentioned it on here beforehand. A complete heart, lung, kidney, spleen, spine and brain transplant is nothing to be taken lightly. Fortunately, they were able to do it arthroscopically and so I only have three stitches on my bicep.

    Ok, everything except the three stitches on my bicep is a lie.  I had a sebaceous cyst removed from my arm. Nothing major. I've had them removed from my scalp before, but this was the first time I was able to watch the doctor do it.

    What's funny is that we inadvertently scheduled Kaitie to have the same thing removed from her scalp at almost the same time in a different doctor's office. She had four taken out (she's an overachiever). We have all five of the cysts at home in jars. I guess we'll start a collection.

    Then in the evening we had to pick Tara up at the airport in Philly. Quite a busy day!

  • So add me on Facebook already

    Seeing my wife enjoying Facebook so much, I finally succumbed to the pressure and set up an account. If you're on Facebook, add me as a friend (Brian Volpone). I've only messed around on there for a few minutes, but it seems pretty well done and simple to keep in touch with people.

    We'll see how this goes. Xanga still seems the best site for us blogging purists. (Actually, I haven't really checked out that many blogging sites, but Xanga is way better than MySpace anyway.)

  • AW Tozer on

    Every notable advance in the saving work of God among men will, if
    examined, be found to have two factors present: several converging
    lines of providential circumstances and a person.

    Let My People Go: The Life of Robert A. Jaffray, 50.


    A. W. Tozer

    A. W. Tozer

    Evangelism: The Desperate Personal Search

    The average person in the world today, without faith and without God
    and without hope, is engaged in a desperate personal search throughout
    his lifetime. He does not really know where he has been. He does not
    really know what he is doing here and now. He does not know where he is
    going.

    The sad commentary is that he is doing it all on borrowed time and
    borrowed money and borrowed strength--and he already knows that in the
    end he will surely die! It boils down to the bewildered confession of
    many that "we have lost God somewhere along the way."...

    Man, made more like God than any other creature, has become less like
    God than any other creature. Created to reflect the glory of God, he
    has retreated sullenly into his cave--reflecting only his own
    sinfulness.

    Certainly it is a tragedy above all tragedies in this world that man,
    made with a soul to worship and praise and sing to God's glory, now
    sulks silently in his cave. Love has gone from his heart. Light has
    gone from his mind. Having lost God, he blindly stumbles on through
    this dark world to find only a grave at the end. Whatever Happened to
    Worship?
    , 65-66.

  • Jim Croce

    I've come to the conclusion that Jim Croce was a genius. It's a shame he died so young and right in his prime.