August 31, 2011

  • Romance is in the Eye of the Beholder

    I was smitten with Bev from the first moment we met. Her beauty – inside and out – attracted me immediately. She was gorgeous and spiritual and awesome. It didn’t take me long to realize that I wanted to know her better.

    We met after a Sunday evening church service. She’d just finalized her decision to follow Christ after quite a spiritual journey. I was seventeen years old and about to start my senior year in high school.

    That first night I discovered that we conveniently lived in the same small town. Cool! Within a few weeks we became good friends. She shared where she worked and lived.

    Since I wanted to see her and talk to her as often as possible, I figured out which route she probably took to get home (she worked only a few blocks from her house), and I knew when she clocked out.

    One afternoon, I rode my bike slowly and repeatedly along that pathway waiting for her to pass by so I could “accidentally” run into her. What do you know, she drove past, I flagged her down and we talked for a long time. In fact, it was so long all the gas drained out of her carburetor, the car stalled, and when she couldn’t get it restarted, we had to push it to her house!

    That was also the first time I got to meet her parents. Her Mom is very perceptive and told me later that she could tell that day that something was up between us.

    This has always been a favorite memory for me. It seemed so romantic that I’d want so badly to get her attention that I’d pull a stunt like this.

    Not long ago as we drove this same road, I told the story to some of our kids. After all, they should know about the love story of their parents, right? It’s important that they understand how I’d seek her and woo her to eventually marry me.

    One child’s response? “Wow, Dad, you were pretty much a stalker!

    Sigh.

    So what do you think the moral of this story is? 

     

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *