Month: November 2007

  • The Answers!

    Here are the answers to our latest version of Two Truths and a Lie!

    #1 – FALSE (I only have one other brother in my family that hunts. Because of
    the distance that we live from each other, we haven’t hunted together
    many times.)
    While this takes the mystery out of the rest of the questions, it is nevertheless false. Of the four boys in the family, I am the only one that hunts. I have one brother that likes for me to come hunt on his property and another that thinks it’s horrible that I would “kill animals for fun” (his words). My other brother probably doesn’t care one way or the other. My brothers are great. :)

    #2 – TRUE (I have a brother that can only drink hot water. If he drinks anything else, it could kill him.) As many of you pointed out, this is so weird it must be true. My brother Paul, the bald one below, has a problem with the vagus nerve in his esophagus. I don’t think anyone is completely sure why it happens, but the effect is that if he drinks anything other than hot liquids (he only drinks hot water), his heart will go into atrial fibrillation (a-fib). It was very scary a few years ago before we discovered the cause. His heart kept fibrillating and no one knew why. It is very weird, but Paul is very weird so it’s somewhat fitting.

    #3 – TRUE (All three of my brothers own their own businesses. I am the only one of the boys that has not been an entrepreneur.) Each of my brothers owns their own business and is very successful. I, however, have never worked full time supporting myself that way. On the other hand, since college, every one of my jobs was a new position in a company, so I’ve had to create each job from scratch. That includes working at two different churches beginning youth ministries where they didn’t exist before. Not quite and entrepreneur, but still somewhat of a pioneer. :)

    So how did you do? For extra fun, I’m going to add a photo of all seven siblings in my family. Do me a favor and leave a comment on the photo too (i.e, click the photo then leave a comment). I’d love to be Featured once before the Lord comes back! :) But comment on this entry too.

    siblings2


  • Which is the lie?

    Since we haven’t done this for a while, it’s time for …

    Two Truths and a Lie

    Two of the following statements are true and one is false. Your job is to figure out which is the lie. Today we will focus on my siblings, specifically my brothers.
    1. I only have one other brother in my family that hunts. Because of the distance that we live from each other, we haven’t hunted together many times.
    2. I have a brother that can only drink hot water. If he drinks anything else, it could kill him.
    3. All three of my brothers own their own businesses. I am the only one of the boys that has not been an entrepreneur.

  • Daylight Savings Time

    I’ve got a few questions for you related to DST.

    • Do you change all your clocks at once on Saturday night, or do you just sort of change them as you go along.
    • Since you “fell back”, did you actually get an extra hour of sleep, or did you just adjust and go to bed an hour later than you normally would?

    The Eagles are getting eaten alive by the thoroughly despicable Dallas Cowboys. It’s quite frustrating so I don’t know why I’m watching. It’s like the morbid fascinating of gawking at a train wreck.